Nominations Released – 2012 Rough Habit Plate

May 8th, 2012

Nominations have been released for the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate, which is due to run at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday May 12, 2012.

Included in the 2012 Rough Habit Plate is New Zealand filly Poste Restante.

Poste Restante has won two of her 12 race starts and has earned close to $50,000 in prize money.

The three-year-old filly finished second in the Group 3 Higgins Manawatu Classic on March 31, 2012.

Trainer Howard Matthews revealed the filly struggled after making the trip overseas.

“She was like most horses who first come over here and didn’t eat up well for the first few days,” Mathews said.

“But she’s picked up a lot and I was so impressed with her work at Doomben on Saturday I decided to throw in a nomination for the Rough Habit.

“She’s also entered for a Benchmark race but she’ll be better suited against her own age in the Rough Habit.

“If she goes well she’ll go to The Roses and then the Queensland Oaks.”

Two starts back the Postponed dilly ran fourth behind Miss Artistic in the Group 1 New Zealand Oaks at Trentham Racecourse.

“Her run in the New Zealand Oaks was outstanding,” Mathews said.

“She got a long way back and was about 25 lengths from the leader on the home turn.

“She also copped a bump on the corner and possibly should have finished third.”

Trump and Reigning are also included in the 2012 Rought Habit Plate nominations.

Don’t forget to open an account with our favourite online bookmaker today in order to receive their fantastic betting odds markets. provide the best odds during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, including races such as the Group 1 Doomben Cup. are giving away a free bet that is equal to 100% of your initial deposit when you deposit between $25 and $300 into your account.

All you have to do to take advantage of this exclusive offer is to sign up with today and enter the special promo code BONUSBET.

So sign up and claim your free bet today!

2012 Rough Habit Plate Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AMALGAMATE Tony Noonan
2 ARCTIC Brian Smith 66
3 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody 75
4 CAPTAIN FASTBUCK David Lawlor 61
6 ISOPACH John P Thompson
7 KEEP WINNING (NZ) John Sargent 63
8 LARGO DA BARRA John Sargent 70
9 MACCA’S EXPRESS Michael Nolan 73
10 MALANDRINO (NZ) Murray Baker
11 MARGINS Ben Currie
12 NASHVILLE (NZ) Adrian Bull
13 NO MORE BULL Lindsay Gough 64
14 PACK THE BAGS Matthew Dunn 61
15 PEPPERED BLACK Lawrie Mayfield-Smith 69
16 POSTE RESTANTE (NZ) Howard Mathews
17 REIGNING Con Karakatsanis
18 RETUNE David Kelly 61
19 TRUMP Robert Heathcote 89.5
20 URUNGA (NZ) Adrian Bull
21 ZIGURAT Jeffrey Caught